House Republicans will again try to elect a speaker after McCarthy’s ouster

Steve Scalise will be nominated as a successor, followed by Jim Jordan.

House Republicans plan to hold a floor vote on Tuesday to choose a new speaker — exactly two weeks after eight of their members joined the Democratic minority in ousting Kevin McCarthy, the chamber’s previous speaker.

Since McCarthy’s historic ouster, the House has been in unprecedented chaos, shutting down half of Congress.

An interim speaker pro, Rep. Although Patrick McHenry, RN.C., was named, Republicans disagreed on a replacement for McCarthy.

“Members are advised that the first floor vote of the week in the House is expected around 12 noon on Tuesday,” said a new announcement from Majority Whip Tom Emmer.

Two GOP sources told ABC News that the vote on the speakership will take place on Tuesday.

House Majority Leader Steve Scalise initially won a private vote to be nominated for speaker at the Republican convention, but abruptly withdrew his bid the next day amid continued opposition within the party.

House Judiciary Chairman Jim Jordan, who finished second to Scalise in that closed-door vote, won an internal race for the speaker’s nomination.

See also  Hamas says two Israeli hostages dead as IDF inflicts what it calls 'psychological torture' on captives' families

“I think we can bring our team together,” Jordan told ABC News’ senior congressional reporter Rachel Scott as the GOP candidate entered the forum Friday afternoon.

However, 55 House Republicans said in a secret ballot Friday that they would not vote for Jordan in a full-floor vote for speaker, and it’s still unclear if he has the 217 votes he needs.

McCarthy said he now supports Jordan for the position. Former President Donald Trump endorsed Jordan early in the race for speaker, which could work for and against his chances depending on how he sways more hard-line and moderate Republican lawmakers.

Minority Whip Catherine Clark urged Democrats to support their party’s leader, Hakeem Jeffries, in the House.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *